Nominate Your Peers for Recognition: 2020 ASLA Honors

ASLA Design Medal
ASLA’s highest honors are presented at the President’s Dinner during the ASLA Conference on Landscape Architecture. The 2019 ASLA Design Medal winner was Douglas Reed, FASLA. / image: EPNAC

We may only be a few weeks into the new year, but the American Society of Landscape Architects (ASLA) already has several deadlines coming up. Help to ensure your voice is heard, that you and your colleagues are recognized for your work and leadership, and that your landscape architecture practice area is represented by taking part in one or more of these open calls—for presentations, nominations, and exemplary projects:

Call for Presentations for the ASLA Conference on Landscape Architecture
Deadline: Thursday, January 23, 2020, 11:59 p.m. PST

Honors Nominations
Deadline: Friday, February 7, 2020, 6:00 p.m. EST

Professional Awards Call for Entries
Deadline for entry fees: Friday, February 21, 2020
Deadline for submissions: Friday, March 6, 2020, 11:59 p.m. PST

Student Awards Call for Entries
Deadline for entry fees: Monday, May 4, 2020
Deadline for submissions: Monday, May 11, 2020, 11:59 p.m. PST

Below, we take a closer look at each of the ASLA Honors, including a new honor to recognize the outstanding and innovative contributions of emerging leaders in the field. These prestigious awards recognize individuals and organizations for their lifetime achievements and notable contributions to the profession of landscape architecture.

Any ASLA professional member or ASLA chapter may submit nominations for ASLA honors. The deadline for all 2020 ASLA Honors nominations is Friday, February 7, 2020, 6:00 p.m. EST. For details on the nomination criteria by category, click the links below. Honors nomination categories are:

The ASLA Medal

The ASLA Medal is ASLA’s highest honor, bestowed upon a landscape architect whose lifetime achievements and contributions to the profession have had a unique and lasting impact on the welfare of the public and the environment.

Recent ASLA Medal winners: Carol Franklin FASLA; Linda Jewell, FASLA; Charles Birnbaum, FASLA; Kurt Culbertson, FASLA; M. Paul Friedberg, FASLA; Richard Bell, FASLA

ASLA 2018 Professional Honor Award in Residential Design. Sustaining a Cultural Icon: Reconciling Preservation and Stewardship in a Changing World. Reed Hilderbrand LLC Landscape Architecture. / image: Marianne Lee

The ASLA Design Medal

The ASLA Design Medal recognizes an individual landscape architect who has produced a body of exceptional design work at a sustained level for a period of at least ten years.

Recent ASLA Design Medal winners: Douglas Reed, FASLA; Mikyoung Kim, FASLA; Gary Hilderbrand, FASLA; James Burnett, FASLA; Thomas Balsley, FASLA; Andrea Cochran, FASLA

image: EPNAC

The Community Service Awards

The Community Service Award recognizes an individual landscape architect or group of landscape architects who have provided sustained, pro bono service to the community demonstrating sound principles or values of landscape architecture.

Recent Community Service Award winners: Kimberlee Douglas, ASLA; John T. Lyle Center for Regenerative Studies; DesignJones, LLC; Martin Barry, ASLA; Randolph Hester Jr., FASLA; William L. Flournoy Jr., FASLA

Dr. Lee-Anne Milburn, FASLA, Professor at California Polytechnic University, received the Jot D. Carpenter Teaching Medal at the 2019 ASLA Conference on Landscape Architecture from President Shawn Kelly, FASLA. / image: EPNAC

The Jot D. Carpenter Teaching Medal

The Jot D. Carpenter Teaching Medal recognizes an individual who has made a sustained and significant contribution to landscape architecture education.

Recent Jot D. Carpenter Teaching Medal winners: Dr. Lee-Anne Milburn, FASLA; Patrick Miller, FASLA; Elizabeth K. Meyer, FASLA; Chip Sullivan, ASLA; Carl Steinitz, Hon. ASLA; William Tishler, FASLA

The Jot D. Carpenter Teaching Medal / image: EPNAC

The LaGasse Medals

The LaGasse Medals recognize notable contributions by individuals to the management and conservancy of natural resources and/or public landscapes.

Recent LaGasse Medal winners: Julie Hensley, ASLA; David Archambault, Hon. ASLA; Scott Bradley, FASLA; Janette Sadik-Khan, Hon. ASLA; Kenneth Bahlinger, ASLA; Mia Lehrer, FASLA; Gregory Long, Hon. ASLA; Ramiro Villalvazo, ASLA

The Landscape Architecture Firm Award

The Landscape Architecture Firm Award, the highest honor that ASLA may bestow on a landscape architecture firm, recognizes firms that have produced bodies of distinguished work influencing the professional practice of landscape architecture.

Recent Landscape Architecture Firm Award winners: Heritage Landscapes LLC; Andropogon Associates; Gustafson Guthrie Nichol Ltd; Michael Van Valkenburgh Associates, Inc.; The Office of James Burnett; Oehme van Sweden & Associates

ASLA 2019 Professional Honor Award in Communications. The New Landscape Declaration: A Call to Action for the Twenty-First Century. Landscape Architecture Foundation. / image: Landscape Architecture Foundation

The Landscape Architecture Medal of Excellence

The Landscape Architecture Medal of Excellence recognizes significant contributions to landscape architecture policy, research, education, project planning, and design, or a combination of these items.

Recent Landscape Architecture Medal of Excellence winners: Landscape Architecture Foundation (LAF); Dumbarton Oaks Research Library and Collections; Central Park Conservancy; National Park Service; City of Scottsdale Preservation Division and McDowell Sonoran Conservancy; Friends of the High Line

The Olmsted Medal

The Olmsted Medal recognizes individuals, organizations, agencies, or programs outside the profession of landscape architecture for environmental leadership, vision, and stewardship.

Recent Olmsted Medal winners: Senator Sheldon Whitehouse (RI); Forterra; Atlanta BeltLine Inc. and Atlanta BeltLine Partnership; The Hon. Michael Nutter; Design Trust for Public Space; Adrian Benepe, Hon. ASLA

image: EPNAC

NEW for 2020: The ASLA Emerging Professional Medal

This medal recognizes an individual landscape architect who has demonstrated exceptional leadership and considerable contribution to the profession of landscape architecture, the prospective recipient’s community, and/or a firm or design team. Nominees must be a landscape architect within the first 10 years of their career.

Honorary Membership

Honorary Membership recognizes persons other than landscape architects whose achievements of national or international significance or influence have provided notable service to the profession of landscape architecture.

2019 Honorary Members: Thomas Bradshaw, Hon. ASLA; Candace Damon, Hon. ASLA; Daniel Martin, Hon. ASLA; Kitty Stoner, Hon. ASLA; Tom Stoner, Hon. ASLA; Marc Treib, Hon. ASLA

ASLA 2019 Honors Recipients at the 2019 ASLA Conference on Landscape Architecture in San Diego / image: EPNAC

All nominations must be submitted as a high resolution PDF and sent via WeTransfer to by February 7, 2020, 6:00 pm EST.

Questions about the nomination process for ASLA honors and honorary membership may be directed to or (202) 216-2331.

Leave a Reply