Championing Climate Positive Design

ASLA 2021 Professional Urban Design Honor Award. Xuhui Runway Park, Shanghai, China. Sasaki / image: Insaw Photography, Sasaki

ASLA recently launched the call for entries its 2023 Professional and Student Awards Program, with a new addition to the Professional Awards’ Analysis & Planning category: the ASLA / IFLA Global Impact Award. New for 2023, the ASLA / IFLA Global Impact Award will be presented to a project that demonstrates excellence in landscape architecture by addressing climate impacts through transformative action, scalable solutions, and adherence to ASLA’s and the International Federation of Landscape Architects (IFLA)’s climate action commitments.

The ASLA / IFLA Global Impact Award grew out of several discussion between IFLA and ASLA leadership. In August 2021, IFLA presented their Climate Action Commitment, in which they committed to collaborate with others “to champion climate positive design.” In September of the year, IFLA requested that ASLA ratify the association’s commitment to actions contained in the statement. Around the same time, IFLA’s strategic plan recommended partnering with member associations to advance awareness of the profession and its exemplary work, including associating with programs and awards. During this same time, ASLA was developing the Climate Action Plan. The confluence of the two climate documents, commitments to actions, ASLA’s interest in raising awareness of climate as part of the awards program, and IFLA’s desire to partner with associations on awards led to the formation of the ASLA / IFLA Global Impact Award.

ASLA 2021 Professional General Design Honor Award. The Leon Levy Native Plant Preserve: A Showcase of Eleuthera’s History, Native Plants, and their Medicinal Uses, Eleuthera, The Bahamas. Raymond Jungles, Inc. / image: Stephen Dunn Photography

ASLA bestows Professional Awards in General Design, Residential Design, Urban Design, Analysis & Planning, Communications, and Research. In each of these categories, juries select a number of Honor Awards and may select one Award of Excellence. One Landmark Award is also presented each year.

The Analysis & Planning category, including the ASLA / IFLA Global Impact Award, along with the Research and Communications categories, will be reviewed by:

  • Maura Rockcastle, ASLA, Ten x Ten – Chair
  • Camille Applewhite, ASLA, Site Design Group
  • Stephanie Grigsby, ASLA, Design Workshop, Inc.
  • Mitchell Silver, Hon. ASLA, McAdams
  • Michael Stanley, FASLA, Dream Design International, Inc.
  • Michael Todoran, The Landscape Architecture Podcast
  • Yujia Wang, ASLA, University of Nebraska

A representative from IFLA will also be joining the jury for the selection of the Analysis & Planning – ASLA / IFLA Global Impact Award:

  • Monica Pallares, IFLA Americas

See the Call for Entries website for the full Professional Awards Jury, along with more information on the Professional and Student Awards Program.

Professional Awards Deadlines:

Deadline extended—registration must be received no later than 11:59 pm PST on Friday, March 10, 2023. Submissions are due no later than 11:59 PST on Friday, March 17, 2023.

Student Awards Deadlines:

Registration must be received no later than 11:59 pm PST on Friday, May 5, 2023. Submissions are due no later than 11:59 PST on Friday, May 26, 2023.

Award recipients receive featured coverage in Landscape Architecture Magazine and are honored at a special Awards Presentation ceremony at the ASLA 2023 Conference on Landscape Architecture October 27-30 in Minneapolis, MN.

One thought on “Championing Climate Positive Design

Leave a Reply